Be Cautious When Deleting Conversations in Messages – TidBITS

In a Hacker Information thread about Dustin Curtis’s locked Apple ID (see “The Thriller of Dustin Curtis’s Locked Apple ID,” 5 March 2021), there have been a number of experiences of iMessage accounts being disabled after different customers inadvertently marked messages from them as spam throughout deletion (swipe left on a message after which faucet the trash icon).

Person andrewmcwatters wrote:

There’s a UX defect with Messages proper now the place when you delete some conversations in succession, randomly will a modal popup [sic] and ask you if you wish to report the contact as spam.

Some Apple articles will let you know to not fear when you’ve unintentionally reported somebody as spam, but it surely truly does one thing. It’s not a pedestrian crosswalk button.

I discovered this out the onerous approach when my spouse might not ship or obtain messages nor signal into Messages and we needed to contact Apple assist. I’ve unintentionally reported tons of individuals as spam due to this silly Messages expertise, and I can solely guess that I’ve reported my very own spouse so many occasions from clearing all of my Messages conversations that they disabled her Messages account.

He ultimately acquired his spouse’s iMessage entry restored after Apple Assist granted a “one-time exception.”

Person rdm_blackhole reported the same incidence:

What a coincidence. My spouse had the identical concern a number of months in the past. It began together with her not having the ability to ship or obtain iMessages.

The worst half was that there was no notification nor warning. A few of her pals truly thought that she was mad at them for some cause as they’d ship her messages and he or she in keeping with them wouldn’t reply in any respect.

From her perspective although she was responding to each message however they by no means acquired them.

He additionally acquired her iMessage entry restored with one other “one-time exception.”

We haven’t seen different experiences of this, and we will’t replicate the habits, so it’s possible a uncommon concern. Regardless, concentrate on the likelihood. The spam-reporting immediate appears to seem solely whenever you delete a whole dialog or delete a number of messages from a single dialog. When you repeatedly delete messages or conversations in Messages, learn the prompts rigorously earlier than responding to them.

It’s not unreasonable that Apple would use the experiences of spam messages to guard different customers from spammers. Nonetheless, it does open the door to abuse by customers who would deliberately mark messages from others as spam to disable their accounts. That might occur solely between individuals who have exchanged a adequate variety of messages, but it surely’s not onerous to think about it occurring in an disagreeable divorce or with a disgruntled housemate. Tell us within the feedback when you’ve seen the spam-reporting prompts or when you or somebody you recognize has had their iMessage account suspended by Apple.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button